Guest Post: Poetry Collection by Priti Vitankar

My friend Priti Vitankar wrote a collection of poems that I thought was beautiful, so she gave me permission to post them here. Priti is from Mumbai, India and she is an Operations Management major and part of the University of Cincinnati Class of 2023. She has lived in 5 countries and is an equestrian. This collection is centered around a theme of coping with sadness. “Infected” and “My Sanity” are about quarantine. I hope you guys enjoy reading them as much as I do!

Infected

It’s near me, all around me

But I don’t have it

It’s changed everything I know to be normal

It’s changed the course of my life

And yet, I still don’t have it

 

As each person falls and falls

The world starts to tremble

For the mistake of one can affect the other

 

What must we live upon?

What must we do?

For I am infected without being too

 

My Sanity

Sanity; I’m losing it

Day by day, it creeps away

The tapping of my feet

The faster breathing

The voice inside me wanting to get out

To scream in frustration to scream in pain

 

What has my life come to?

Locked in with the annoyance

Day after day. Increasing.

The voices outside are no better than the ones in

The constant words

The constant looks

 

I’ve come so close to the edge

I might just fall

Fall to where? I must see.

Is this madness really a reality?

 

Path

Two steps forward, one step back.

Not as easy, as it seems,

Another path is what you seek

Perhaps one, that you have already found

But not a way you want to go on.

Confessing shows the knowledge of the path

Knowledge means you know it’s the only way out

You know what it is

I don’t have to repeat twice

 

Two steps forward, three steps back

Alas, I have said it

And you know, it will last

Around your mind it will go,

Threatening you with your darkest fears

For this isn’t as simple as you must have thought

The steps are known but never shown

 

Don’t be a fool,

This isn’t cruel.

It’s the path everyone must take,

Before it’s too late

Take a step back and turn yourself around

But don’t run back

That’s all that counts

 

SCISSORS

A symbol of happiness

A symbol of pain

Cuts through the pages of yesterday

Smooth or rough, it may go

Straight or askew, it may cut

 

Can be glued into something new

Zigzagged, is how it may remain

Scars will stay, all through time

 

Relived or not,

That’s up to you.

The pages have been cut

And now the time has come,

To be something new

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment